Chocolate & Zucchini Forum Index >> Back to Chocolate & Zucchini <<

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages 
 RSS feedLast posts feed   RegisterRegister   Log inLog in 

Gravy

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Chocolate & Zucchini Forum Index -> Cooking & Eating
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Alana

PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2009 10:29 pm    Post subject: Gravy Reply with quote

Hope everyone who does Thanksgiving has enjoyed it!

I'm fairly new to gravy; didn't grow up with it (it's kind of Anglo-Saxon, I think, and I'm European) and the only time I've had it has been at a British friend's house, where thick, brown salty stuff with the consistency of custard is served in jugs alongside equally stodgy bread sauce. It is Bisto, and while it is nice, I'd like to make my own. I could live without gravy, but a certain someone I know really likes it, so it would be nice to tackle it. The only time I've tried to make it I ended up with boiled onions...

James Martin has made some on British TV with marmite, Bisto and onions, but what are your tips - or, indeed, recipes (!) for excellent gravy? And indeed, what is an excellent gravy - is it light and saucy, or as substantial as my friend's?

Also - this is slightly separate - since gravy is made with pan-drippings from a roast, how can I make a gravy ahead of time? I noticed a post on make-ahead turkey gravy and thought it would be nice to do the same for chicken. The reason is that I have a tiny oven that fits ONE roasting tray and ONE chicken (just about), so I pop the chicken on a rack and vegetables underneath to roast...

Hopefully I'll have gravy under my belt by Christmas!
Mmel'ours

PostPosted: Sat Nov 28, 2009 2:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote