Chocolate & Zucchini Forum Index >> Back to Chocolate & Zucchini <<

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages 
 RSS feedLast posts feed   RegisterRegister   Log inLog in 

Food and Geology?!

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Chocolate & Zucchini Forum Index -> Other things
View previous topic :: View next topic  
trilobyte

PostPosted: Thu Jan 19, 2006 7:50 pm    Post subject: Food and Geology?! Reply with quote

I’m a geologist and a member of the Geological Society of America. Last week I received in the mail my monthly issue of GSA Today, a newsletter with society announcements and advertisements. However, it always has one scientific article as the “cover story”. I was intrigued and delighted to see a very culinary title for this month’s GSA Today article – The long-term strength of continental lithosphere: “jelly sandwich” or “crème brûlée”? And of course, the lead author is French! If anyone is interested in reading the article, follow the link below and you can read the article online or download a pdf Print Version of the original. Of course, it is a somewhat technical article on the strength of the Earth’s crust and not a masterpiece of culinary literature. I just thought I would share some of my nerdiness with you all.

http://www.gsajournals.org/gsaonline/?request=get-document&doi=10.1130/1052-5173(2006)016%3C4:TLTSOC%3E2.0.CO;2

PS – the authors’ end conclusion is that the Earth’s crust is probably not a crème brûlée, this makes me a little sad.
Sarape

PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2006 5:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I understood the article since it is related to my field of fluid mechanics and mechanical engineering. Anyway, that's for the link Trilobyte.

I'm retiring today. I've got an exit interview with HR in 45 minutes, and then I'm out.